This really ticked me off today…

by Charles Cherry

This morning I checked on the availability of a domain name for a friend of mine. I usually use GoDaddy but for some reason I clicked the link for Register.com. I searched for the domain name, found out it was available, then left.

Imagine my dismay when, hours later, I am scrolling down through a news story on completely unrelated tech site and I see this advertisement:

Yep – the part that is smooshed out is the domain name that I searched for on register.com earlier in the day! Those creepies used a cookie on my computer to notice that I had searched their site, and inserted my search into their ad dynamically when this page was loaded!

Aside from that being pretty cool use of the technology, it just feels wrong. It feels like my privacy has been violated or something. (I know, privacy is such an antiquated idea on the Internet.)

