PLINQO

by Charles Cherry

Where I work our development team has been gravitating toward using Linq-To-SQL more and more. This morning I stumbled across the PLINQO project again. I remember seeing this last year, and thinking it looked interesting, but at that time we were still stuck in .Net Framework 2.0 and couldn’t even use Linq.

PLINQO, which stands for Professional LINQ to Objects, is a collection of CodeSmith templates that are meant to replace and extend the LINQ to SQL designers that are included with Visual Studio 2008. CodeSmith is a professional template-based code generation tool. I have been using it at work for several years, and even used it when developing the simple entity framework that we use there for many of our projects.

Well, I think I’m going to give PLINQO a closer look. We have now moved up to VS 2008 and framework 3.5, and are even migrating to SQL 2008, so now is a great time to look into PLINQO. We really like the “it just works” feel of Linq-to-Sql, so perhaps PLINQO is the way to go. I’ve been burned on third-party frameworks in the past, though, so I’m going into this with eyes wide open.

http://www.plinqo.com

