Beware of Clean-Up Utilities

by Charles Cherry

The other day I was cleaning my PC (defragging the registry, uninstalling unused programs, etc.) As part of my cleaning spree, I ran a util that zaps zero-byte and empty files (among other things). Afterwards my PC ran much faster, and I was a happy camper. Until today…

Seems that I cleaned up some things that I shouldn’t have. For instance, SQL Server Management Studio barked at me when I tried to create a new query:

Cannot find template file for the new query (‘C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL
Server\10\ Tools\Binn\VSShell\Common7\ IDE\SqlWorkbenchProjectItems\SQL\SQLFile.sql’).

SQLFile.sql is an empty query file that management studio uses as a “template” of sorts.

The solution to the error is to create a new file in the folder named SQLFile.sql.

